FRED (Den Haag): Open tot 17:00 uur
CENTRUM (Den Haag): Open tot 18:00 uur
DELFT: Open tot 17:00 uur
MALL: Open tot 18:00 uur
  1. Home
  2. > Boeken
  3. > Auteur
  4. > Dakshana Bascaramurty

This Is Not the End of Me

Dakshana Bascaramurty
€ 11,11
ebook
Inkijk exemplaar This Is Not the End of Me
Ebook direct te downloaden
Teruggeven of ruilen niet mogelijk!
This Is Not the End of Me
Dakshana Bascaramurty

Omschrijving

Lessons on Living from a Dying Man

NATIONAL BESTSELLER
A BEST BOOK OF 2020
CBC – The Best Canadian Nonfiction of 2020
The Globe and Mail
’s Globe 100: Our Favourite Books of 2020

Chatelaine’s 10 Best Books of 2020
The Walrus’s Favourite Books of 2020

For readers of Paul Kalanithi's When Breath Becomes Air and Will Schwalbe, the moving, inspiring story of a young husband and father who, when diagnosed with terminal cancer at the age of thirty-three, sets out to build a legacy for his infant son.**

i can't make you feel what it's like to be a young, dumb, naïve thirty-year-old sitting in the back of a walk-in clinic waiting to be handed what is essentially a death sentence any more than i can show you what it feels like to have a husband or father or child who's dying and knowing there is nothing you can do to stop it. i can only describe to you how i feel today. angry. at peace. scared. grateful. a giant, spiky, flowering heart-shaped bouquet of contradictions.

Layton Reid was a globe-trotting, risk-taking, sunshine-addicted bachelor--then came a melanoma diagnosis. Cancer startled him out of his arrested development--he returned home to Halifax to work as a wedding photographer--and remission launched him into a new, passionate life as a husband and father-to-be. When the melanoma returned, now at Stage IV, Layton and his family put all their stock into a punishing alternative therapy, hoping for a cure. This Is Not the End of Me recounts Layton's three-year journey as he tried desperately to stay alive for his young son, Finn, and then found purpose in preparing Finn for a world without him.

With incredible intimacy, grit, and empathy, reporter Dakshana Bascaramurty casts an unsentimental eye on who her good friend was: his effervescence, his twisted wit, his anger, his vulnerability. Interweaving Layton's own reflections--his diaries written for Finn, his letters to his wife, Candace, and his public journal--she paints a keenly observed portrait of Layton's remarkable evolution. In detailing the ugly, surprising, and occasionally funny ways in which Layton and his family faced his mortality, the book offers an unflinching look at how a person dies, and how we might build a legacy in our information-saturated age.

Powerful and unvarnished, This is Not the End of Me is about someone who didn't get a very happy ending, but learned to squeeze as much life as possible from his final days.

Lees meer Lees minder
0 Beoordelingen
Toon alle beoordelingen
Productinformatie
  • Editie:EPUB met Adobe DRM  Meer informatie
    Meer informatie
  • ISBN: 9780771009648
  • Auteur: Dakshana Bascaramurty
  • Uitgave: McClelland & Stewart
  • Jaar van uitgave: 2020
  • Taal: Engels
  • Artikelnummer: 72025351
Lees meer Lees minder
€ 11,11
ebook
Ebook direct te downloaden
Teruggeven of ruilen niet mogelijk!
Tevens beschikbaar
Even geduld AUB ...
Laden even geduld aub ...